25
Apr
08

Saying Goodbye–1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible

Pardon the self-indulgence, but today’s pics are all about my car–well, the car that used to be mine. Today, I traded off my old Asuna Sunrunner convertible for a shiny ’08 Mazda3 Sport. Although it’s definitely a step up in every regard, letting go of an “old friend” is still tough.

1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible

Ok, so it’s a just car, but anyone who’s gone through a lot with their ride knows what I’m talking about. It was originally bought it in 1998 after a deer decided to pick a fight with my VW Fox (unfortunately for the deer, I was going 110 km/h at the time). And although I really wanted something small and sporty, I was working in the farm supply business and thought owning a 4×4 would help boost my career. That’s when I found this:

1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible

The Asuna brand was only sold through Pontiac dealers for one year, and had three models: the Asuna Sunfire (a re-badged Isuzu Impulse with a bored-out 1.8 litre engine), the Asuna SE and GT (an Opel hatchback imported from Europe) and this rebadged Chevy Tracker. Somehow I lucked out and got one of the few fully-loaded models with a removeable hardtop as well as 4 wheel drive.

1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible

Although I’ve driven it from Montreal to Tofino (BC) and back, the best times I had with it was in Banff, Alberta. It seemed like the little thing was built just for the winding roads and congested streets associated with mountain towns.

1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible

As much fun as she could be, practicality won out. I’m getting married in four months to a beautiful woman who’s just learning to drive a regular car, let alone handle a rear-wheel-drive standard-transmission Jeep YJ wannabe. Besides, who knows how long the clutch or the transmission had left on it, not to mention that some of the expensive parts were starting to act up.

Even though the Mazda3 is faster, more comfortable, and the CD player doesn’t involve a Sony discman stuck to the dashboard with Velcro, I’m going to miss the old girl. I just hope her next owner has as much fun as I did.

1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible

Like what you see?  Any image on this site is available as prints, shirts, or even a coffee mug!  Click Here to order or find out more!

6 Responses to “Saying Goodbye–1993 Asuna Sunrunner Convertible”


  1. 1 dan
    October 29, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    enjoy the new mazda speed3! 280whp is dangerous! 🙂

  2. October 29, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks for the comment on the blog today, I appreciate it. And sadly,
    it’s only the regular Mazda 3, although it does have the bigger 2.4L
    engine. But hey, at 156 hp, it’s still double what the Asuna had
    under the hood.

  3. 3 dan
    October 30, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    whoopsies

    I sent my reply by email, its quite lengthy! Enjoy the new Mazda.

    The Speed is really terrible on fuel anyways. 😉

  4. 4 Peter Hurlbut
    December 27, 2008 at 12:45 am

    I have a 1994 Pontiac Sunrunner – also with 4X4 and removable hardtop. And I’m also getting to the point where I’m wondering how long I can keep it going – so far this fall a new clutch and a new starter – starting to add up.. But I love the little thing – most fun car I’ve ever had – except for my 1970 Volvo P1800E – had to sell it – it was getting too expensive to keep on the road.

  5. 5 Alex
    February 5, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I too own a 1992 Asuna sunrunner and its good to hear that you have had as much fun as I have. Even though the body is getting rusty and I just had to replaced the head gasket. I find that it is worth keeping, it now runs great. I plan on keeping it and someday restoring it and making it the way it should be again. It has sentimental value to me since it was my first car.


Leave a Reply

    follow me on Twitter

    Categories

    April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

    Archives


